Pro Bowl 2019: Chargers lead NFL with 7 selections, Drew Brees named NFC starting QB

Three takeaways from the Saints' win over the Vikings

The NFL has released the rosters for the 2019 Pro Bowl in Orlando, Fla., and the Chargers lead the field with seven selections.

Although the Chargers started off 0-3, Philip Rivers and his supporting cast have become one of the league’s biggest threats. Keenan Allen, Melvin Gordon and Melvin Ingram are just a few players who will represent the franchise in Orlando.

Second-year Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes, who has taken the league by storm this season, has been named the starting quarterback for the AFC. Mahomes will be joined by teammates Tyreek Hill and Travis Kelce, who have been two of his favorite targets so far in 2018.

Patriots quarterback Tom Brady was also named to the roster. It was his 14th career Pro Bowl selection, which ties him with Peyton Manning, Tony Gonzalez, Bruce Matthews and Merlin Olsen for the most all-time.

The NFC isn’t short on talent, either. Drew Brees is a sure-fire Hall of Famer, and he’s having what might be his best season ever as a 39-year-old. Other notable NFC selections include Todd Gurley, Julio Jones and Aaron Donald.

The 2019 Pro Bowl will take place Jan. 27 at the Camping World Stadium. The full rosters are below:

AFC Pro Bowl Roster


Wide receiver: DeAndre Hopkins*, Houston Texans; Tyreek Hill*, Kansas City Chiefs; Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh Steelers; Keenan Allen, Los Angeles Chargers
Tackle : Taylor Lewan*, Tennessee Titans; Alejandro Villanueva*, Pittsburgh Steelers; Eric Fisher, Kansas City Chiefs
Guard : David DeCastro*, Pittsburgh Steelers; Marshal Yanda*, Baltimore Ravens; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts
Center : Maurkice Pouncey*, Pittsburgh Steelers; Mike Pouncey, Los Angeles Chargers
Tight end : Travis Kelce*, Kansas City Chiefs; Eric Ebron, Indianapolis Colts
Quarterback : Patrick Mahomes*, Kansas City Chiefs; Philip Rivers, Los Angeles Chargers; Tom Brady, New England Patriots
Running back : James Conner*, Pittsburgh Steelers; Melvin Gordon, Los Angeles Chargers; Phillip Lindsay, Denver Broncos
Fullback : Anthony Sherman*, Kansas City Chiefs


Defensive end : J.J. Watt*, Houston Texans; Myles Garrett*, Cleveland Browns; Melvin Ingram, Los Angeles Chargers
Interior lineman : Geno Atkins*, Cincinnati Bengals; Jurrell Casey*, Tennessee Titans; Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh Steelers
Outside linebacker : Von Miller*, Denver Broncos; Jadeveon Clowney*, Houston Texans; Dee Ford, Kansas City Chiefs
Inside linebacker : C.J. Mosley*, Baltimore Ravens; Benardrick McKinney, Houston Texans
Cornerback : Xavien Howard*, Miami Dolphins; Jalen Ramsey*, Jacksonville Jaguars; Stephon Gilmore, New England Patriots; Denzel Ward, Cleveland Browns
Free safety : Derwin James*, Los Angeles Chargers; Eric Weddle, Baltimore Ravens
Strong safety : Jamal Adams*, New York Jets


Kicker : Jason Myers*, New York Jets
Long snapper : To be named by coach.
Punter : Brett Kern*, Tennessee Titans
Return specialist : Andre Roberts*, New York Jets
Special teamer : Adrian Phillips*, Los Angeles Chargers

NFC Pro Bowl Roster


Wide receiver : Julio Jones*, Atlanta Falcons; Michael Thomas*, New Orleans Saints; Adam Thielen, Minnesota Vikings; Davante Adams, Green Bay Packers
Tackle : Tyron Smith*, Dallas Cowboys; Terron Armstead*, New Orleans Saints; Trent Williams, Washington Redskins
Guard : Zack Martin*, Dallas Cowboys; Brandon Brooks*, Philadelphia Eagles; Trai Turner, Carolina Panthers
Center : Alex Mack*, Atlanta Falcons; Max Unger, New Orleans Saints
Tight end : Zach Ertz*, Philadelphia Eagles; George Kittle, San Francisco 49ers
Quarterback : Drew Brees*, New Orleans Saints; Jared Goff, Los Angeles Rams; Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers
Running back : Todd Gurley*, Los Angeles Rams; Saquon Barkley, New York Giants; Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys
Fullback : Kyle Juszczyk*, San Francisco 49ers


Defensive end : Cameron Jordan*, New Orleans Saints; DeMarcus Lawrence*, Dallas Cowboys; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings
Interior lineman : Aaron Donald*, Los Angeles Rams; Fletcher Cox*, Philadelphia Eagles; Akiem Hicks, Chicago Bears
Outside linebacker : Khalil Mack*, Chicago Bears; Ryan Kerrigan*, Washington Redskins; Anthony Barr, Minnesota Vikings
Inside linebacker : Luke Kuechly*, Carolina Panthers; Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks
Cornerback : Kyle Fuller*, Chicago Bears; Patrick Peterson*, Arizona Cardinals; Darius Slay, Detroit Lions, Byron Jones, Dallas Cowboys
Free safety : Eddie Jackson*, Chicago Bears; Harrison Smith, Minnesota Vikings
Strong safety : Landon Collins*, New York Giants


Kicker : Aldrick Rosas*, New York Giants
Long snapper : To be named by coach
Punter : Michael Dickson*, Seattle Seahawks
Return specialist : Tarik Cohen*, Chicago Bears
Special teamer : Cory Littleton*, Los Angeles Rams

* Indicates Starters