NHL All-Star Game 2019 rosters: Patrick Kane makes eighth appearance; 10 players make game for first time

The NHL has announced its rosters for the upcoming Honda NHL All-Star Game, which will be held Jan. 26 in San Jose.

The rosters include six forwards, three defensemen and two goaltenders from each of the four divisions, with each team required to have at least one selection.

Blackhawks star Patrick Kane will be making his eighth appearance, the most of anyone in the game. At the other end of the spectrum, 10 players will be making their first appearance in the game.

Capitals star Alex Ovechkin informed the NHL he will skip the All-Star Game to recuperate for the second half of the season. That decision earned him a one-game suspension from the league.

This year’s game will be held on Saturday, instead of the traditional Sunday. The game will be broadcast at 8 p.m. ET on NBC, CBC, SN and TVAS. The NHL Skills Competition has been moved from Saturday to Friday.

2019 NHL All-Star Game Rosters

Atlantic Division (All-Star appearance)

F Jack Eichel, BUF (2nd)

F Nikita Kucherov, TBL (3rd)

F * Auston Matthews, TOR (3rd)

F David Pastrnak, BOS (1st)

F Steven Stamkos, TBL (6th)

F John Tavares, TOR (6th)

D Thomas Chabot, OTT (1st)

D Keith Yandle, FLA (3rd)

G Jimmy Howard, DET (2nd)

G Carey Price, MTL (7th)

Metropolitan Division (All-Star appearance)

F Sebastian Aho, CAR (1st)

F Cam Atkinson, CBJ (2nd)

F Mathew Barzal, NYI (1st)

F Sidney Crosby, PIT (4th)

F Claude Giroux, PHI (6th)

F Taylor Hall, NJD (3rd)

D John Carlson, WSH (1st)

D Seth Jones, CBJ (2nd)

G Braden Holtby, WSH (4th)

G Henrik Lundqvist, NYR (5th)

Central Division (All-Star appearance)

F Patrick Kane, CHI (8th)

F * Nathan MacKinnon, COL (3rd)

F Ryan O’Reilly, STL (2nd)

F Mikko Rantanen, COL (1st)

F Mark Scheifele, WPG (1st)

F Blake Wheeler, WPG (2nd)

D Miro Heiskanen, DAL (1st)

D Roman Josi, NSH (2nd)

G Devan Dubnyk, MIN (3rd)

G Pekka Rinne, NSH (3rd)

Pacific Division (All-Star appearance)

F Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (5th)

F Clayton Keller, ARI (1st)

F * Connor McDavid, EDM (3rd)

F Joe Pavelski, SJS (3rd)

F Elias Pettersson, VAN (1st)

D Brent Burns, SJS (6th)

D Drew Doughty, LAK (5th)

D Erik Karlsson, SJS (6th)

G Marc-Andre Fleury, VGK (4th)

G John Gibson, ANA (2nd)

* Fan-elected captain