Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 2019 finalists: Tony Gonzalez, Ed Reed, Champ Bailey lead list

Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 2019 modern-era semifinalists

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its 2019 finalists on Thursday.

The 15 finalists are Tony Gonzalez, Isaac Bruce, John Lynch, Edgerrin James, Ed Reed, Steve Atwater, Champ Bailey, Ty Law, Tony Boselli, Kevin Mawae, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson, Richard Seymour, Tom Flores and Don Coryell.

Gonzalez, a 14-time Pro Bowl player and six-time All-Pro tight end with the Chiefs and Falcons, retired as the NFL’s second all-time leader in receptions with 1,325. He is sixth all time in receiving yards with 15,127 and eighth in receiving touchdowns with 111.

Bruce, a veteran of 16 seasons, was named to four Pro Bowls with the Rams and 49ers and won a Super Bowl with the Rams in 2000. He finished his career with 1,024 receptions for 15,208 yards and 91 touchdowns.

Lynch, a 15-year NFL veteran, was named to nine Pro Bowls, two All-Pro rosters and won a Super Bowl with the Buccaneers in 2003. He tallied 1,054 tackles, 26 interceptions and 13 sacks in his career.

James, an 11-year veteran with the Colts, Cardinals and Seahawks, rushed for 12,246 yards and 80 touchdowns. He was named the Offensive Rookie of the Year in 1999 and to the Pro Bowl four times.

Reed, an 11-year vet with the Ravens and Texans, was named to nine Pro Bowls, five All-Pro teams and was the 2004 AP Defensive Player of the Year. He is seventh all time with 64 interceptions.

Atwater, a finalist for the second time, was named to eight Pro Bowls, had 24 interceptions and more than 1,000 tackles in his career. Bailey was named to 12 Pro Bowls, had 52 career interceptions and 908 tackles.

Law made five Pro Bowls and was a member of the 2000s All-Decade team. Boselli was named to five Pro Bowls and is a HOF finalist for the third year in a row.

Mawae was an eight-time Pro Bowl player and a six-time first-team All-Pro. Faneca was a nine-time Pro Bowl player and is a member of the 2000s All-Decade team. Hutchinson made seven Pro Bowls and was a six-time first-team All Pro.

Seymour was named to seven Pro Bowls while tallying 57 1/2 career sacks. Tom Flores won 105 games in his career and two Super Bowls. Don Coryell was a pioneer of the modern-day passing offense in the NFL and won 111 games in his career with the Chargers and Cardinals.