Pro Football Hall won’t require attendance after Terrell Owens' no-show

‘No regrets’ as Terrell Owens receives Hall of Fame ring

Terrell Owens opted to skip his Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony, and he likely won’t be the last to do so.

According to Pro Football Talk, which cited multiple unidentified sources, the Hall of Fame’s board of trustees “did not impose any type of attendance requirement on the men who became the 15 modern-era finalists for potential enshrinement” and have no plan to enact such a rule.

Owens explained in August that he wanted to protest the process of how Hall of Fame players are selected by hosting his own Hall of Fame ceremony at his alma mater, UT-Chattanooga. 

“I understand why I’ve made my decision,” Owens said. “I don’t expect everyone to agree with me. But, again, obviously the criteria and the system put in place for the Hall of Fame in order for guys like myself to be inducted, there are guidelines that the writers — the sportswriters — are supposed to adhere to.

“This is not [about] not being inducted the first or second ballot, but it’s about the process in which guys are nominated and ultimately inducted. There is a flaw in that system. So this is not only about me, but it’s about the guys that went before me, that’s going to come after me. And I can make a stand for those guys so they won’t have to go through this situation.”

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its 2019 finalists earlier this month, with Tony Gonzalez, Ed Reed and Champ Bailey leading the list. 

The 12 other finalists include Isaac Bruce, John Lynch, Edgerrin James, Steve Atwater, Ty Law, Tony Boselli, Kevin Mawae, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson, Richard Seymour, Tom Flores and Don Coryell.