NHL awards 2019: Three finalists named for Lady Byng Trophy

Ryan O’Reilly had a fantastic first season with the Blues and he keeps getting recognized for it.

The Blues forward was named a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy on Wednesday which recognizes the player who best combines sportsmanship and ability.

He is also a finalist for the Selke Trophy.

He was nominated alongside Aleksander Barkov of the Panthers and Sean Monahan of the Flames for the Lady Byng.

The NHL will roll out all of its award finalists every night over the next two weeks culminating with the Hart Trophy nominees on April 28.

Here is the schedule for all of the announcements along with the finalists for the Selke Trophy.

NHL Awards Finalists announcement dates

  • April 17: Selke Trophy (Patrice Bergeron, Ryan O’Reilly, Mark Stone)
  • April 18: Lady Byng Trophy (Player best combining sportsmanship and ability)
  • April 19: Masterson Trophy (Perseverance and dedication to hockey)
  • April 20: Vezina Trophy (Top goaltender)
  • April 21: Norris Trophy (Top defenseman)
  • April 22: Mark Messier Leadership Award
  • April 23: King Clancy Memorial Trophy (Humanitarian Award)
  • April 24: Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award
  • April 25: Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player as voted by the players)
  • April 26: Jack Adams Award (Top head coach)
  • April 27: Calder Trophy (Top rookie)
  • April 28: Hart Trophy (Most Valuable player to his team)