Pro Football Hall of Fame 2020: 'Centennial Class' likely to have 20 inductees

2019 Hall of Fame Game set: Broncos to face Falcons in Canton

The NFL is going all out with the 2020 Pro Football Hall of Fame class in celebration of the league’s 100th season.

While speaking Monday on SiriusXM NFL Radio, Hall of Fame president and CEO David Baker revealed a class of 20 inductees for next year has tentatively been approved.

The maximum number of inductees each year currently sits at eight.

“It is extremely elite company, and it’s not the Hall of very, very good. It’s the Hall of Fame, and so it should be difficult to make it,” Baker said. “But there’s a lot of guys through the years [who have slipped through the cracks]. We have several guys who are on all-decade teams who aren’t in the Hall of Fame, so this is an opportunity with the Centennial coming up. What we’ve looked at potentially and has been approved, at least in concept, by our operating board … is that potentially we would have 20 Hall of Famers enshrined for the year 2020.

“This year we have eight, so this would be quite a few guys, but it would be the five normal modern-era players elected from 15 finalists and then 10 seniors, three contributors and two [coaches]. But again, I want to stress that that’s got to be something that’s passed by our board on Friday, Aug. 2.”

Some of the top first-ballot players for the 2020 class include safety Troy Polamalu, wide receiver Reggie Wayne and linebacker Patrick Willis.

The eight men set to be inducted in the 2019 class in Canton, Ohio, on Aug. 3 are cornerback Champ Bailey, owner Pat Bowlen, personnel executive Gil Brandt, tight end Tony Gonzalez, cornerback Ty Law, safety Ed Reed, safety Johnny Robinson, and center Kevin Mawae.